Synth-pop is a new genre for me. I have only really been getting into it thanks to the amazing Mirror’s Edge: Catalyst theme song and its hundreds of remixes on YouTube. With that said, I have to say that I quite liked booting up Prey (2017) for the very first time and playing through that first credit sequence. That was mostly because of the incredible theme song that goes along with it. That theme song, along with the rest of the Prey Soundtrack, is now available on all major music services.

Although I never played DOOM (2016), I know that it had one of the best synth-metal and hard rock soundtracks of the decade. I know this because I actually bought the soundtrack. Mick Gordon, the man behind most of the songs on DOOM, also worked on Prey. Hence my excitement for the Prey Soundtrack.

In Prey, you play as Morgan Yu on a space station called Talos I. Here research into a hostile alien collective called the Typhon is performed. As the Typhon escape confinement, it is up to the player to use a variety of weapons and abilities derived from the Typhon and escape the station. It is a firstperson shooter, with light horror elements. Kind of a Bioshock-meets-Dishonored type of a deal.

Before I continue, I have to say that the Prey Soundtrack is a bit different to the DOOM Soundtrack. It has a much more eerie feel, with ominous tones looming underneath all tracks on the album. It also features much more synthesisers than that of DOOM, which also occasionally introduced instruments into the fray.

Mick Gordon is not the man who did it all this time around either. According to the track listings (see below), Ben Crossbones, Matt Persall, and Raphael Colantonio are also credited on some tracks. For those who do not know, Raphael Colantonio is the president of Arkane Studios.

The Full track list from the Prey Soundtrack:

  • “The Experiment” by Mick Gordon
  • “Everything Is Going to Be Okay” by Mick Gordon
  • “Typhon Voices” by Mick Gordon
  • “The Phantoms” by Mick Gordon
  • “Into the Tunnels” by Matt Piersall
  • “Human Elements” by Mick Gordon
  • “The Truth Will Set You Free” by Mick Gordon
  • “No Gravity” by Mick Gordon
  • “Alex Theme” by Mick Gordon
  • “December and January” by Mick Gordon
  • “Neuromods” by Mick Gordon
  • “Stranded” by Ben Crossbones
  • “Semi Sacred Geometry” by Raphael Colantonio and Matt Piersall
  • “Mind Game” by Raphael Colantonio, Production and Electronics by Matt Piersall

You can listen to it, or buy it, from just about any major streaming service. This includes iTunes and Apple Music, Spotify, Google Play Music and Amazon Music.

[Sources: Gameranx, Gamespot, Green man Gaming, PC Games Network]

Junior Editor at Vamers. From Superman to Ironman; Bill Rizer to Sam Fisher and everything in-between, Edward loves it all. He is a Bachelor of Arts student and English Major specialising in Language and Literature. He is an avid writer and casual social networker with a flare for all things tech related.